The past two years have been a time of excitement and growth for the Biophysical Society of Canada (BSC). The BSC has offered trainee travel and merit awards, sponsored mixers, created a semi-annual newsletter and organized our first two annual BSC meetings. The 1 st annual meeting was held in 2015 at the University of Waterloo, where Drs. Ian Smith and Richard Epand were recognized as Fellows of the BSC for their outstanding contributions to biophysics. The 2nd annual BSC meeting was held in Winnipeg from June 1 – 3, 2016, and boasted an outstanding array of speakers. Dr. Lewis Kay from the University of Toronto was recognized as the 2016 Fellow of the BSC and delivered the National Lecture. Looking to the future, the BSC will continue to promote the careers of our trainees, recognize the outstanding contributions of our members, and foster scientific collaborations between biophysicists in Canada. Do not hesitate to send me your thoughts and suggestions at Please join us May 24-26, 2017 at the 3rd annual BSC meeting in Montreal. Hope to see you there.

- John E. Baenziger, President of the BSC




  • agilent-technologies
  • aist-nt-logo
  • avanti-polar-lipids-logo
  • bba-biomembranes-logo-150x75
  • diamed-canada-logo-150x75
  • fisher-scientific-150x75
  • keysight-technologies-150x75
  • nicoya-lifesciences-150x75
  • plos-one-150x75
  • sfr-logo-150x75
  • ta-instruments-150x75
  • jpk-instruments-logo-150x75