Fellows of BSC


Fellows are scientists who have made exceptional contributions to biophysics.

Fellows are chosen by the executive based on nominations from the awards committee, currently chaired by Dr. Giuseppe Melacini.

Dr. Natalie Strynadka

2018 Fellow

Dr. Strynadka's studies define the structural mechanisms underlying microbial diseases.

See Full Profile

Dr. Benoit Roux

2017 Fellow

Dr. Roux’s studies provide a computational roadmap toward an understanding of biological systems.

See Full Profile

Dr. Lewis E. Kay

2016 Fellow

Dr. Kay has made transformative contributions to the field of biomolecular nuclear magnetic resonance.

See Full Profile

Dr. Richard M. Epand

2015 Fellow

Dr. Epand’s is a leader in studying the relationship between the properties of lipid membranes and their biological function.

See Full Profile

Dr. Ian C. P. Smith

2015 Fellow

Dr. Smith has performed pioneering research in the application of MRI and spectroscopy to non-invasive medical diagnoses.

See Full Profile

Call for Nominations - Biophysical Society of Canada Awards

Submission Deadline: June 30th (Fellows) & January 15 (Service Award) of each calendar year.

The Biophysical Society of Canada solicits nominations for Fellows of the Biophysical Society of Canada and for the Michèle Auger Award for Exceptional Service to the Biophysical Society of Canada.

All members of the Biophysical Society of Canada who are in good standing are welcome to submit a nomination of deserving candidates for either award by e-mailing a nomination package to Giuseppe Melacini.

For fellows, the nomination package must include:
- A one page cover letter from the nominator
- A current CV of the nominee
- Two supporting letters from arms-length biophysicists different from the nominator

For the Michèle Auger Service Award, the nomination package must include:
- A nomination letter outlining the contributions of the nominee to the BSC

Complete nomination packages received by June 30th (Fellows) & January 15th (Service Award) will be reviewed and ranked through votes by the executives of the Biophysical Society of Canada. Nomination in all areas of biophysics and biophysical chemistry are welcome. Award winners are recognized at the Annual meeting of the Biophysical Society of Canada. We look forward to receiving your nominations.

Share This