Poster Awardees at the 7th Annual BSC Meeting, Ottawa, May 2022

Euan Joly-Smith
Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences, University of Toronto Mississauga
"Inferring gene regulation from static snapshots of gene expression variability"
Supervisor: Andreas Hilfinger

The poster awards were sponsored by the uOttawa BCH graduate program and the IUPAB

Sarah McColman
Department of Chemistry and Biology, Toronto Metropolitan University
"SARS-CoV-2 Virus-Like-Particles using liposome nanotechnology"
Supervisor: David Cramb

Kathleen Vergunst
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Dalhousie University
"Characterizing the structure and assembly of hydrophobin proteins"
Supervisor: David Langelaan

Micah Yang
Department of Chemistry, University of British Columbia Okanagan
"Characterization of Tension Gauge Tether Rupture Forces"
Supervisor: Isaac Li

Anna Ananchenko
Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, University of Ottawa
"Probing cholesterol and anionic lipid binding to the nicotinic acetylcholine receptor using MD simulations"
Supervisor: John Baenziger

Vinayak Mull
Department of Physics and Atmospheric Science, Dalhousie University
"Adhesion force microscopy imaging reveals the charge distribution at the surface of single collagen fibrils"
Supervisor: Laurent Kreplak

Aaron Lyons
Department of Physics, University of Alberta
"Direct characterisation of non-productive attempts at structural self-assembly in single biological molecules"
Supervisor: Michael Woodside

Liam Haas-Neill
Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences, University of Toronto Mississauga
"Elucidating Oncogenicity of the STAT5b N642H Mutation"
Supervisor: Sarah Rauscher

Saman Bazmi
Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography, Memorial University of Newfoundland
"Effects of macromolecular crowding on protein folding in the presence of nonnative interactions"
Supervisor: Stefan Wallin

Philipp Karau
Department of Physics, University of Ottawa
"Toward DNA data storage with solid-state nanopore readout"
Supervisor: Vincent Tabard Cossa

Share This