Young Investigators


The BSC recognizes the achievements of early career investigators through the Young Investigator Award. Recipients are researchers who, within the first 10 years of obtaining an independent position, have made outstanding contributions to biophysics and who are emerging as leaders in their field. The inaugural Young Investigator Award of the BSC was awarded in 2019.

Young investigators are chosen by the executive based on recommendations from the awards committee, currently chaired by Leonid Brown.

Dr. David Sivak

2021 Young Investigator Award

Dr. Sivak's interdisciplinary work has bridged the gap between theory and experiments to understand the inner workings of molecular machines and provide answers to fundamental questions in the evolutionary optimization of biomolecular structure and function.

See Full Profile

Dr. Sabrina Leslie

2020 Young Investigator Award

Dr. Leslie has pioneered and perfected a new type of molecular imaging modality named CliC (Convex Lens-Induced Confinement), allowing long-time observations of large numbers of individual molecules in natural conditions.

See Full Profile

Dr. Roberto Chica

2019 Young Investigator Award

Dr. Chica has been pushing the boundaries of protein engineering through his pioneering work in computational protein design.

See Full Profile

Call for Nominations - Biophysical Society of Canada Awards

Submission Deadlines: August 15th, 2020 for Fellows and Young Investigators and January 15th, 2021 for the Service Award.

The Biophysical Society of Canada solicits nominations for Fellows of the Biophysical Society of Canada, for the Young Investigator Award, and for the Michèle Auger Award for Exceptional Service to the Biophysical Society of Canada.

All members of the Biophysical Society of Canada who are in good standing are welcome to submit a nomination of deserving candidates for either award by e-mailing a nomination package to Leonid Brown.

For fellows and young investigators, the nomination package must include:
- A one page cover letter from the nominator
- A current CV of the nominee
- Two supporting letters from arms-length biophysicists different from the nominator

For the Michèle Auger Service Award, the nomination package must include:
- A nomination letter outlining the contributions of the nominee to the BSC

Complete nomination packages received by August 15th (Fellows & Young Investigator Award) & January 15th (Service Award) will be reviewed and ranked through votes by the executives of the Biophysical Society of Canada. Nominations in all areas of biophysics are welcome. Nominees for Fellows and the Young Investigator award must be Canadian or working in Canada. To be eligible for the Young Investigator award, the nominee must be within ten years of his/her first independent research position (excluding leaves of absence) at the time of the nomination. Award winners are recognized at the Annual meeting of the Biophysical Society of Canada. We look forward to receiving your nominations.

Share This