Our Executive Leadership

Meet your fellow BSC members and researchers who give their time to lead the Society!

Executive Members of the BSC

The operations of the Biophysical Society of Canada (BSC) are governed by a Board of Directors and an Executive. The Board of Directors includes the President, Vice-President, Treasurer and Membership Director, with each member of the Board being elected by the members of the BSC, as outlined in the Bylaws. Members of the Board of Directors sit on the Executive of the BSC. BSC Trainee Representatives sit on the Executive as non-voting members.

Board of Directors

Claudiu Gradinaru


Department of Physics
University of Toronto

David Langelaan

Vice President

Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Dalhousie University

Danielle Tokarz


Department of Chemistry
St. Mary’s University

Suzana Straus

Membership Director

Department of Chemistry
University of British Columbia

Executive Members

Nancy Forde

Past President

Department of Physics
Simon Fraser University

Cécile Fradin


Department of Physics and Astronomy
McMaster University

Isaac Li

Website & Social Media

Department of Chemistry
University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus

Vincent Tabard-Cossa

BSC Meetings

Department of Physics
University of Ottawa

Trushar Patel


Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
University of Lethbridge

Eric Lee


Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology,
University of Ottawa

Gonca Erdemci-Tandogan


Department of Physics & Astronomy
University of Western Ontario

Benjamin Baylis

Trainee Representative

University of Guelph

Koushik Bar

Trainee Representative

Simon Fraser University