Biophysical Society of Canada Awards

BSC awards recognize the contributions of our members to biophysics and our Society. Please read our EDID statement.

Principal Investigator Awards

The Biophysical Society of Canada honours Canadian researchers who’ve made remarkable contributions to the field of biophysics by designating them as Fellows and selecting them for the National Lecture at the BSC Annual Meeting. In addition, we recognize the efforts of early career investigators with the Early Career Investigator Award and a plenary lecture opportunity at the BSC meeting. We also appreciate the contributions to the BSC with the Michèle Auger Award for Exceptional Service.

BSC Fellow

Awarded annually to scientists who have made exceptional contributions to the field of biophysics.

Nomination Deadline: August 1

Early Career Investigator Award

For emerging leaders that have made outstanding contributions to their field.

Nomination Deadline: August 1

Michèle Auger Service Award

Recognizing a member’s exceptional service to the growth of our society.

Nomination Deadline: January 15

National Lecturer

Chosen by the BSC Annual Meeting organizers to deliver the National Lecture.

No Nominations Available

Trainee Awards

The Biophysical Society of Canada (BSC) aids its trainees with travel awards to the US Biophysical Society meeting as well as its own annual meeting. The BSC also grants awards for the top poster or oral presentations at its annual meeting. Since 2021, we’ve started offering a doctoral thesis award and trainee paper awards, recognizing exceptional contributions from our trainees in their respective research fields.

Research Excellence Awards

Doctoral Thesis Award

Presented to recent PhD graduates for a thesis of exceptional quality and impact.

Nomination Deadline: February 15

Trainee Paper Award

Recognizes leading trainee authors on research papers of exceptional quality and impact.

Nomination Deadline: February 15

Annual Meetings Awards

Trainee Poster Award

The Best Trainee Poster Award is a general term given to the awards presented at the BSC Annual Meetings held in Canada.

BSC Travel Awards

Several merit-based Travel Awards for the BSC Meeting are given to trainee members to attend our annual BSC meetings in Canada.


BPS Travel Awards

Several merit-based Travel Awards for the US Biophysical Society Meeting are given to trainee members to attend the US meetings.

Application Deadline: December 15

Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Decolonization (EDID) statement for Awards

The mandate of the Biophysical Society of Canada (BSC) is to advance and promote biophysics research, training and dissemination activities in Canada. BSC is committed to Equity, Diversity and Inclusion throughout all of our activities and in the community of biophysics. We acknowledge the historical and ongoing injustice that shows inherent and implicit bias in various aspects of the scientific award process. We believe that all members, visitors and event participants should be treated with dignity, respect and kindness, and we do not tolerate any form of discrimination. To ensure this, the awards given by BSC not only recognize the scientific achievements of individual awardees but also serve as a proactive force to foster a culture of equity, diversity and inclusion in the biophysical community. To achieve this, the Awards Committee will:

  1. Encourage nominations of outstanding colleagues from Indigenous Peoples, members of racialized communities and visible minorities, persons with disabilities, women, and persons who identify as 2SLGBTQ+.
  2. Welcome self-nominations for BSC Fellow, Early Career Investigator Award and Michèle Auger Award for Exceptional Service.
  3. Require mandatory Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Decolonization (EDID) training for all Award committee members to have a thorough understanding of the systematic barriers and the impact of biases on selection processes and to take these impacts into account while reviewing nominations for all our Principal Investigator and Trainee awards.
  4. Collaborate with other scientific societies to actively identify exceptional biophysicists from under-represented groups across Canada.