Michèle Auger Service Award

The Michèle Auger Service Award recognizes a member’s exceptional service to the growth of our society.


Michèle Auger Service Award

The Michèle Auger Service Award recognizes members who have provided exceptional service towards the growth and development of the Biophysical Society of Canada.

The Biophysical Society of Canada created the Michèle Auger Award for Exceptional Service in 2016 to honor the commitment and dedication of Dr. Michèle Auger. Dr. Auger was a member of the Society from 1986 until her passing in 2018, and sat on the executive from 1994-2018. She was treasurer from 1997 until 2014, and served as secretary from 2010-2018. In the latter role, she was responsible for creating and updating the BSC’s first website, as well as establishing a Facebook presence. Dr. Auger was an active and committed member of the executive of the BSC. The tremendous growth of the society occurred in large part due to the exceptional work of Dr. Auger.

Nomination Process: All members of the Biophysical Society of Canada who are in good standing are welcome to submit a nomination of deserving candidates for either award by e-mailing a nomination package to Trushar Patel. The nomination package must include a nomination letter outlining the contributions of the nominee to the BSC.

Complete nomination packages received by the deadline will be reviewed and ranked through votes by the executives of the Biophysical Society of Canada. 

Past Award Recipients


Jenifer Thewalt

Dr. Jenifer Thewalt has made a significant contribution as the BSC treasurer and in the implementation of the new online membership system.

Read Full Profile