2017 Annual Meeting of the BSC

3rd Annual BSC Meeting | May 24-26, 2017 | Université du Québec à Montréal | Montréal, QC

3rd Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society of Canada

BSC 2017

The 3rd Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society of Canada was held May 24-26, 2017 in Montreal on the campus of the Université du Québec à Montréal. Organized by a committee chaired by Professors Steve Bourgault and Peter Pawelek, the conference brought together over 250 participants. The meeting included plenary and poster sessions covering all areas of biophysics, with a particular emphasis on single-molecule spectroscopy, computational biophysics, protein structure and dynamics, and biological nano-confinement. In total, 51 scientific talks and 106 poster presentations were made at this symposium, a clear testimony to the vibrancy of the society.

During the meeting, Professor Benoit Roux from the University of Chicago presented the National Lecture entitled ‘The Molecular Mechanism of P-type ATPase Ion Pumps’ and was honored as the 2017 Fellow of the Biophysical Society of Canada. Other notable scientific highlights of the conference included Keynote Lectures by Professor Peter Davies from Queen’s University, Professor Sarah L. Keller from the University of Washington and Professor Dorothee Kern from Brandeis University. Congratulations to the student poster award winners; Adrian Paz Ramos, Williams E. Miranda, Zeineb Bouhlel, Chieh Ting Hsu, Morgan Robinson, Mouhanad Babi, Justine Dionne, Eric Beamish, Cory Campbell, Robert Harkness, Félix Proulx-Giraldeau and Gregory-Neal W. Gomes.

The symposium was sponsored by The Université du Québec à Montréal, Pharmaqam, Malvern, GE Healthcare, GRASP, PROTEO, Bruker, PerkinElmer, Nicoya Life Sciences, Spectra Research Corporation, NanoQAM, Agilent Technologies, Mirexus, Calcul Québec, Fisher Scientific, Rigaku Oxford Diffraction, Nanion Technologies, SFR Magnifying Nanosciences, Mitegen, TA Instruments and Soquelec. We thank all our sponsors for their generous support.

Conference Organizers